The Fourth of July Will End With a Full Moon Lunar Eclipse

A penumbral lunar eclipse will take place overnight from Saturday to Sunday for most observers in North and South America, as well as portions of western Africa and Europe.

Yes, July 4th will end with a full moon lunar eclipse! Are you ready?

penumbral lunar eclipse, penumbral lunar eclipse july 4th, penumbral lunar eclipse july 4 2020
A penumbral lunar eclipse on July 4, 2020. Picture via Time and Date

The eclipse begins at 11:07 P.M. EDT (9:07 p.m. MDT and 8:07 p.m. PDT) on Saturday, July 4, and ends at 1:52 a.m. EDT on July 5 with maximum eclipse around 00:30 a.m. EDT (10:30 p.m. MDT and 9:30 p.m. PDT).

It’s worth stepping outside if you’ve got good weather to see if you can spot the effect.